Posted by: Bernard Lelchuk | December 27, 2010

Initial guest blog by Dario U. Estrin: Characters of testers


Well, it seems that this is my first post in Bernard’s blog. So thanks to him for hosting me. I got to testing by mistake. I was a developer who hated to develop, but while a student I had to make a living, so SQA for the easy way. My friends always said I love lost causes and work hard at the last moment, so I eventually found that testing was created just for me.

Over the years I’ve worked in over 6 different testing departments in different companies. The common denominator of testing teams is the people. Since no university has placed yet a degree in software testing, the testing teams are always an agglomeration of special and very different people. Special to say the least. Just to make my first post a big funny, let’s try to sketch 3 common characters of testers:

The tranquil:

This guy has seen everything. He never speaks loud, he never complaints he works slowly but surely. On the other hand, he’ll never turn around from his keyboard when you talk to him and will always provide you a informative testing status: “hummm….you see, there are issues still to be tested…but I cannot explain everything…it’ll take time…”

The hysteric:

This tester never has enough time. He always gets to the last moment without having covered 80% of the application. He was so pedant on the first 20% that he forgot the rest…You’ll always feel like a war criminal when asking him to “give a push” since he has already exhausted himself – he doesn’t need you to kill himself working…on the less important things.

The products/developers eater:

This is the super tester. His bugs reproduction scenarios are perfect. He knows everything about the system. It is amazing how developers and product managers never learned to avoid him. When he asks a developer a technical question, the requiem sounds in the background. Young product managers who do not know the system perfectly yet, are an easy prey….and you can do nothing to save them – they’ll have to learn it on their own.

In the next posts we’ll discuss from time to time other testers types, and I’ll let you guess what type was I.

Cheers and thanks for reading me in Bernard’s Blog.

Dario U. Estrin.

Image: Filomena Scalise / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

What do YOU think about this post?

Categories

